Tax Rebate for Elderly and Disabled Program
Administered by the Wyoming Department of Health, the Tax Rebate for the Elderly and Disabled Program provides an allowance to help cover sales and use taxes and utility and energy costs qualified residents paid over the last year.Program Eligibility
Those eligible, by statute, for this program are individuals who are 65 years of age or older, or 18) years of age or older and totally (100 percent) disabled for one full year prior to the date of application.
Applicants must be age 65 or 18 by December 31 of the calendar year 2012.
Income limits: For single individuals the limit is $17,500, and for married couples it is$28,500 for 2012.
Income information required to be sent with the applications is listed on the “Income Verification Worksheet.” For the 2013 application year we need income for the year 2012.
Residency: Applicants must meet the residency requirement, which means they must have lived in Wyoming for the full 12 months prior to date of application. Assets: The total household assets of all property must not exceed $29,100.00 per adult member of the household. This does not include land and the buildings and structures placed on that land for one residence and one car per adult in the household. (As the statutes and rules and regulations are quite lengthy for assets, please see page 11 of the presentation for complete guidelines.)
View the program
For a qualified single individual, the amount of refund varies between $250 and $800. Income less than $10,000 entitles the individuals to the full refund established by the program. The refund is prorated for incomes between $10,000 and $17,500.
For married couples, the amount of refund varies between $216 and $900. Incomes of $16,000 and below entitle the individuals to the full refund established by the program. The refund is prorated for incomes between $16,000 and $28,500.
Applications should be available in early June at your local senior centers. To see when assistance will be available for completing the application, contact
in Pinedale at (307) 367-2881 or the Southwest Sublette County Pioneers Center in Marbleton at (307) 276-3249. The application form must be post marked by August 29 to qualify. A new application is needed every year.
Eligibility is determined by the
Wyoming Department of Health
and checks are mailed beginning in December. If you have any questions, call the Department of Health toll free at (866) 989-8901 or email them at